Delta Zeta Founders

Delta Zeta Sorority was founded at Miami University, in Oxford, Ohio in 1902. Dr. Guy Potter Benton is our Grand Patron for his contributions in helping our founders set up Delta Zeta as a sorority.  

These women were; From the left to right, Alfa Lloyd Hayes, Mary Jane Collins, Anna Louise Keen, Julia Lawrence Bishop, Mabelle May Minton, and Anne Dial Simmons.

Official Colors

Rose and Green


Killarney Rose




Sea Turtle


Roman Lamp


To the world,  
I promise temperance and insight and courage,
To crusade for justice,
To seek the truth and defend it always:
To those whom my life may touch in slight measure,
May I give graciously
Of what is mine;
To my friends,
Understanding and appreciation;
To those closer ones,
Love that is ever steadfast;
To my mind, Growth; 
To myself,
That I may walk truly
In the light of the Flame.

- Dorothy Mumford Williams, Alpha Zeta Chapter

© 2020 Delta Zeta Sorority,


Sigma Chapter

Gallaudet University 

ELY Center 3rd Floor

800 Florida Ave. NE 

Washington DC 20002